HomeAbout UsBrief History

Brief History

Article Index
Brief History
37 Barangays
Geographical Data
All Pages


Cotabato City, the ancient capital town of Mindanao words "Kuta" for fort and "wato" for stone.  The place basically spreads around what is known as P.C. Hill..

Settlements in Cotabato City started as early as 1475.  The place developed as the capital town of Mindanao in the seventeenth centry under Sultan Dipatwan Qudarat, (reigned during this time).

In the nineteenth century when Sultan Makakua ruled, roads and wharves were constructed which gave rise to the birth of modern day Cotabato.  That kind of development enticed the inhabitants from Zamboanga and the Visayas to migrate and settle here.  The Chinese nationals who have long settled in Cotabato were assimilated into the population by intermarriages with the native Maguindanaons.

At the turn of the twentieth century, when the Americans started to rule the Philippines, Cotabato became the capital town of Cotabato province.  It remained as its capital until 1959, the time which Cotabato became a chartered city pursuant to Republic Act No. 2364.

Under its charter, Cotabato City covers a land area of 17,599 hectares and politically, it is recently subdivided into 37 barangays namely:

Mother Barangay Rosary Heights
Barangay Rosary Heights No. 1
Barangay Rosary Heights No. 2
Barangay Rosary Heights No. 3
Barangay Rosary Heights No. 4
Barangay Rosary Heights No. 5
Barangay Rosary Heights No. 6
Barangay Rosary Heights No. 7
Barangay Rosary Heights No. 8
Barangay Rosary Heights No. 9
Barangay Rosary Heights No. 10
Barangay Rosary Heights No. 11
Barangay Rosary Heights No. 12
Barangay Rosary Heights No. 1
Mother Barangay Tamontaka
Barangay Tamontaka No. 1
Barangay Tamontaka No. 2
Barangay Tamontaka No. 3
Barangay Tamontaka No. 4
Barangay Tamontaka No. 5
Mother Barangay Bagua
Barangay Bagua No. 1
Barangay Bagua No. 2
Barangay Bagua No. 3
Mother Barangay Poblacion
Barangay Poblacion No. 1
Barangay Poblacion No. 2
Barangay Poblacion No. 3
Barangay Poblacion No. 4
Barangay Poblacion No. 5
Barangay Poblacion No. 6
Barangay Poblacion No. 7
Barangay Poblacion No. 8
Barangay Poblacion No. 9
Mother Barangay Kalanganan
Barangay Kalanganan No. 1
Barangay Kalanganan No. 2

Cotabato City is located on the North-West portion of Maguindanao Province, Central Mindanao.  Approximately, it is 698.9 nautical miles from Manila, the capital city of the Republic of the Philippines.

On the north, the city is bounded by the municipality of Sultan Kudarat, with Rio Grande de Mindanao as its boundary; on the east, by the Municipality of Kabuntalan; on the south, by the municipality of Dinaig; and, on the west, by Illana Bay.

Cotabato City has a total land area of 17,599 hectares.  However, based from records of the City Assessor's Office, the city has the following reported data on taxable and exempt properties.

It is situated in the low land portion of Maguindanao Province with practically 70% of its total land area below sea level.  Yet, there exist two elevated areas which abound the City, the PC Hill and the Timako Hill with an altitude of 90 ft. and 150 ft. respectively.

The City is basically a delta surrounded by two big rivers, the Tamontak River and the Rio Grande de Mindanao.  Hence, it is not surprising to note that there are brooks, rivulets and creeks of various size that traverse the City in all directions.  Likewise, there are also bigger bodies of flowing water found in this city; the Matampay, Parang, Timako, Esteros and Miwaruy rivers.