HomeTourismThe Destination

About the City

Article Index
About the City
All Pages

Geographic Location:  Cotabato City lies on the north west portion of Maguindanao, one of the component provinces of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao.  It is bounded on the north by the municipality of Sultan Kudarat with Rio Grande de Mindanao as the boundary; on the east by the Municipality of Kabuntalan; on the south by the Municipality of Dinaig with Tamontaka River as the boundary, all of the Maguindanao Province and by Illana Bay on the west.  (See Cotabato City in Google Maps)

Land Area:  The City has a total land area of 17,599 hectares.

Topography:  Its topography ranges from flat, level, very gently sloping to gently undulating to moderately sloping or rolling.  Basically 70% of its total land area is below sea level.

No. of District: 1 (Maguindanao & Cotabato City)

City Mayor:  Japal Juanday Guiani, Jr.

No. of Barangays:  37

Mother Barangay Bagua, Barangay Bagua  1, Barangay Bagua 2, Barangay Bagua 3, Mother Barangay Kalanganan, Barangay Kalanganan 1, Barangay Kalanganan 2, Mother Barangay Poblacion, Barangay Poblacion  1, Barangay Poblacion 2, Barangay Poblacion 3, Barangay Poblacion 4, Barangay Poblacion 5, Barangay Poblacion 6, Barangay Poblacion 7, Barangay Poblacion 8, Barangay Poblacion 9, Mother Barangay Rosary Heights, Barangay Rosary Heights 1, Barangay Rosary Heights 2, Barangay Rosary Heights 3, Barangay Rosary Heights 4, Barangay Rosary Heights 5, Barangay Rosary Heights 6, Barangay Rosary Heights 7, Barangay Rosary Heights 8, Barangay Rosary Heights 9, Barangay Rosary Heights 10, Barangay Rosary Heights 11, Barangay Rosary Heights 12, Barangay Rosary Heights 13, Mother Barangay Tamontaka, Barangay Tamontaka 1, Barangay Tamontaka 2, Barangay Tamontaka 3, Barangay Tamontaka 4, Barangay Tamontaka 5. (See boundaries in our Barangay Map)

No. of Precincts: 509 (with 77,799 voters)

Distance from other major citites/provinces:  It is around 689.9 nautical miles southeast of Manila and is more or less 220 kilometers from Davao City.

Date of Foundation/Establishment:  June 20, 1959 by virtue of R.A. 2364

History:  As early as 1475, a settlement near the mouth of Rio Grande de Mndanao was already a thriving trade center.  That settlement, the forerunner of Cotabato City, was the strategic gateway to the resource-rich hinterlands of Mindanao.  Thus, it was favored as the seat of political and economic power, the center where culture mix. Sultan Kudarat reigned during this time.  In the intervening years, growth was in trickles.  This was largely due to a stifling combination of constant warfare and nature's restlessness in this flood and earthquake-prone delta.  In 1871, 120 years ago, a strong earthquake visited the area and caused the levelling of almost all structures.

The settlement in Cotabato City became a pronounced phenomenon only some five years during the reign of Sultan Kudarat.  During that time, the city was the seat of power and it developed as the capital town of Mindanao in the 17th century.

In the nineteenth century when Sultan Kudarat ruled, roads and wharves were constructed which gave rise to the birth of modern day Cotabato.

Population:  Total Population: 163,849 (2000 Census)
HH Population:  31227 (Pop. Census 2000)
Average Household size:  5.17  (NSO, POPCEN 2000)

People:  Maguindanao, Iranon, Maranao, Tirurary, Visaya, Ilocano, Tagalog, Ilonggo, Chavacano

Major Industry:  Aquaculture Products; Trading Center

READ MORE on History of Cotabato City; also a Brief History and History Thru Time