HomeGovernmentThe Chief ExecutiveExecutive OrdersEO 57 - Execom and TWG Relative to Protection of the Esteros River

EO 57 - Execom and TWG Relative to Protection of the Esteros River

Series of 2011


WHEREAS, the Esteros River, one of the major river in the city, is being threatened by pollution and siltation which could endanger the health and safety of the riverside communities, in particular, and the entire population of Cotabato City, in general;

WHEREAS, in order to avert the eventual destruction and pollution of the Esteros River, the City Government of Cotabato is embarking to undertake a comprehensive program for the protection of said waterway;

WHEREAS, the program will be jointly undertaken with the Environmental Management Bureau (EMB) of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), civic organizations, non-government organizations and the communities along the Esteros River;

WHEREAS, there is a need to organize a group of dedicated and multi-skilled men and women who will spearhead the eventual completion of the protection and preservation of the Esteros River Project;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, JAPAL J. GUIANI, JR., Mayor of Cotabato City, by virtue of the powers vested in me by law, do hereby order the creation of an Executive Committee and a Technical Working Group relative to the Esteros River project, composed of the following:

SECTION 1. Executive Committee

Chairman                    JAPAL J. GUIANI, JR.
City Mayor
Vice-Chairman            DATU TUNGKO SAIKOL
Regional Director
Environmental Management Bureau
Department of Environment & Natural Resources
Regional Office 12
Members                     Chairman, SP Committee on Environment
President, Liga ng mga Barangay
Secretary to the City Mayor
City Social Welfare and Development Officer
City Legal Officer
City Health Officer
City General Services Officer
City Assessor
City Engineer
City Environment and Natural Resources Officer, DENR-12
Two (2) representatives from Non-Government Organizations

SECTION 2. The Technical Working Group (TWG)

Chairman                    MR. ROSELLER A. PAPA
City Planning and Development Coordinator
Vice-Chairman            ANICETO V. RASALAN
 Secretary to the City Mayor
Members                     Barangay Chairman, Rosary Heights 8
Barangay Chairman, Rosary Heights 9
Barangay Chairman, Rosary Heights 10
Barangay Chairman, Rosary Heights 11
Barangay Chairman, Tamontaka Mother
Barangay Chairman, Tamontaka 1
Barangay Chairman, Tamontaka 2
Barangay Chairman, Tamontaka 3
Barangay Chairman, Tamontaka 4
Barangay Chairman, Tamontaka 5
Barangay Chairman, Bagua 1
Barangay Chairman, Kalanganan 2
Engr. Crisanto V. Saavedra
Engr. Samuel G. Jorolan
Abdullah M. Cusain
Halima K. Satol
Rommel C. Pausal
Mohammad A. Abdulgani

SECTION 3. Duties and Responsibilities of the Technical Working Group

1. Provide general guidance for the protection of the Esteros River, particularly on:

a. Cleanliness and Sanitation;
b. Dredging and Desiltation;
c. Rehabilitation of aquatic resources; and
d. River bank protection

2. Review, evaluate and make suggestions, comments and/or recommendations relative to the implementation of the Project;

3. Coordinate with the Environmental Management Bureau of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (EMB-DENR) in the protection of the Esteros River;

4. Perform such other functions as may be deemed necessary.

SECTION 4. REPEALING CLAUSE. All executive orders, rules or regulations or parts thereof, inconsistent with the provisions of this Executive Order are hereby repealed, amended, or modified accordingly.

SECTION 5. Effectivity

This Executive Order shall take effect immediately.

Done in the City of Cotabato this 8th day of November 2011.


City Mayor
Attested by:
Secretary to the City Mayor


EO 196 - Institutionalizing the Organization and Activiation of an All-Ladies Emergency Response Team (ALERT)
EO 195 - Amending the Composition of GAD Focal Points System (GFPS) Pursuant to RA 9710, known as the Magna Carta on Women and PCW
EO 194 - Organizing the Expanded Ugnayan ng Mga Barangay at Simbayan Technical Working Group (UBAS-TWG)/MASA MASID
EO 193 - Re-constituting the Cotabato CitySold Waste Management Board
EO 192 - Creating the Adolescent Health Committee and Its Composition
EO 191 - Composition of the Planning Team for the Updating of the Comprehensive Development Plan (CDP)
EO 190 - Reorganizing the Cotabato City Joint Transport and Traffic Task Force (JTTTF)
EO 189 - Composition of Representatiives to Different Sectoral Committees of the Regional Development Council (RDC) XII
EO 188 - Reorganizing the Local Health Board of Cotabato City
EO 184 - Reorganizing and Strengthening the Cotabato City Anti-Drug Abuse Council (CADAC)
EO 183 - Reorganizing the Cotabato City Peace and Order Council
EO 182 - Organizing the Cotabato City Juvenile Justice Welfare Network (CJJWN)
EO 169 - Creating the Geographical Information System (GIS) Technical Working Committee
EO 168 - Reconstituting the Public Financial Management Assessment Team (PFMAT)
EO 167 - Organizing the Cotabato City Anti-Drug Abuse Council
EO 154 - Creating the Advocacy and Public Relations Center
EO 153 - An Order Rationalizing the Conduct of Council and Committee Meetings
EO 152 - Declaring Mr. Adam Breimo as Adopted Son of Cotabato City
EO 150 - Creating the Local Poverty Reduction Action Team (LPRAT 2017)
EO 143 - Creating the Technical Working Group (TWG) on Water and Climate Change Resiliency Programs